Your Council

About Sligo County Council

Sligo County Council is the local authority of Sligo. It comprises of an elected council of eighteen members who annually elect a chairperson from within their member. The Chairperson chairs meetings of the County Council and represents the people of the County. The council adopts an annual estimate of expenses and makes decisions on policy.

County Sligo is dominated by a mountainous landscape, with Sligo town surrounded by the Ox mountain range to the south, Knockrea to the west, Keelogboy, Leenan and Benbo mountains to the east and range including Benbulben and Kings Mountain to the north and east . There is a sense of enclosure from these mountains in Sligo Town as they provide a backdrop to development and are visible from many locations throughout the town.

County Sligo has the largest group of archaeological sites/remains in the country and has a rich association with literature, culture, arts and music. Several features give Sligo a unique character as a tourist destination – its association with Yeats, the landscape; surfing in places such as Strandhill, the Carrowmore Megalithic Cemetery; the built heritage such as Sligo Abbey, Lissadel House and Markree Castle.